Coed Varsity Wrestling · SNODGRASS AND CROWE TO STATE!


The Fairmont Wrestling Firebirds hosted the Division I District Championships at Trent Arena over the weekend.  Leading the way was District Champion Nevan Snodgrass (170) and District 3rd Place Jaeden Crowe (220).  Nevan and Jaeden will now travel north to Columbus for the OHSAA State Championships on March 7-9.

Snodgrass was dominant en route to his title, winning all 4 bouts via bonus points, including a pin in the final.  Crowe battled back from a Quarterfinal loss to win 4 straight on Saturday to claim 3rd place, including 1-point victories in the consolation semifinal and final.  Snodgrass will be making his 3rd consecutive state appearance while Crowe qualified for the first time.

Gavin Fogel (138), Evan Overholser (145), and Ali Salih (182) all won 2 bouts before being eliminated from the competition.  Bobby Robbins (152) won 1 bout to advance to day 2.  Drew Altick (120) and Elijah Woodroof (195) also competed for the Firebirds.

Fogel ends his career as a 3x District Qualifier and a tremendous leader for the Firebirds.  Woodroof made 2 trips to the District Tournament and was a varsity starter for 3 straight years.  Robbins showed marked improvement this year and qualified for his first District.  Altick, a 3rd year wrestler, made his first trip to the Districts and showed tremendous improvement.

The 82nd OHSAA State Wrestling Championships take place at The Ohio State University’s Schottenstein Center beginning on Thursday 3/7/19.   Brackets and additional info can be found at: